Login | Register
About Us
Marais Elected Board
About our Location
Photo Albums
Contact Us
Marais Community Newsletters
Important Local Contacts
Board Members Contacts
Marais Resident Directory
POA Operations/Reports
Member Requests
Marais Tenant Information
Real Estate Professionals & Financial Firms

Return to List
Posted on Apr 28th, 2018

Filled with prize-winning camellias and azaleas, along with a variety of flowers, shrubs and trees, the Osgood's creation was opened to the public in 1943. Pierates Cruze continued as a tourist attraction until 1959. With the deaths of the Osgood's, the land was subdivided and sold in 1961. Small remnants of the gardens endure: columns that stood in the Amalfi remain; a belled wall (photo above) was destroyed by Hurricane Hugo in 1989, but reconstructed with the original bricks.
Pierates Cruze is Stop #19 on the Old Village Tour available on the Historical Commission's website and app, linked here.
Image credit: Amalfi Garden "Belled Wall" (Alhambra Garden Club) from the Old Village Historic District page on the Town of Mount Pleasant website, linked here.
The Town of Mount Pleasant Historical Commission releases Quick Fact Fridays about the history of Mount Pleasant and about the Commission, its programs and activities. Historical facts are drawn largely from the Our History section of the Town's website and the Commission's own Mount Pleasant Historical website and app. Follow their links by clicking on the images below to discover what makes Mount Pleasant such a distinctive historical place!  To receive Quick Fact Friday messages click here to register. To also receive news from the Culture, Arts and Pride Commission, click here to register.
No Comments


© Copyright 2019 MaraisPOA | Homeowners Association Website by HOA Sites | Terms of Use | Admin